1

TicTalk

(open in browser for transcript)
1
Transcript

No transcript...

What do I like? Football this year. A 4K screen for $400. Decaf lattes. Waking up from a nightmare. Nikki Haley and her quixotic journey.

What I don’t like. This 2024 campaign. The media’s conflict-ridden pursuit of momentum.

What media doesn’t like that I am OK with. Elon Musk. Advertising. The politics of churn. Peak TV running out the clock.

New tricks to get through life. Choosing to watch Lindsey Graham harangue the tech kings. Admiring Ted Cruz and his interactive charts. The old studio trick of turning the audio down as low as it can go and still be heard. Finding the point where slowly typing feels slightly better than doing nothing. In the space between notes is every story worth telling.

I don’t care how much money Mr. Beast makes. I’m OK with outrageous CEO compensation. I’m in favor of a 1-10 ranking for every piece of content based on the cumulative appreciation I have for the object. Especially those pieces that I skim into the middle and eventually work my way back out. Some of my best friends worry about privacy and algorithms. But I remember there’s no free lunch and the value of stuff is in the bet it’s worth your time. My wife spends too much time picking up stuff but it turns out she’s a genius and I’m not.

Transcript

1 Comment
Gillmor Gang
Gillmor Gang Podcast
Gillmor Gang +
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Steve Gillmor
Brent Leary
Denis Pombriant
Frank Radice
Keith Teare
Tina Gillmor