Preview
1

Reason to Believe

(Substack goes to the video)
1

Just when I thought nothing much was happening with Substack’s ambitious startup, the small team came up with some excellent work on their platform. Over the last few years, they’re added video embeds, podcast functionality, and now transcripts. I was vaguely expecting this yet unexcited about the scope of the effort, but I was at least so far dead wrong. Starting now, the tools surrounding the Gillmor Gang release include something with AI bolted on, and I kinda buy the marketing. The results are subtly better than many of the standalone competitors, a blend of accuracy and context that avoids most of the post editing that makes transcripts so not worth it. Thanks, Substack.

This doesn’t replace the text I’ve married with the show. I’m still wrestling with the feel of this commentary, just as the show wrestles with its various demons. Trump, Musk, the what-me-worry Generative AI and so on, I’ve pretty much left it to the Gang to meander their way to some, or even any effect. But who a…

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Gillmor Gang to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Gillmor Gang
Gillmor Gang Podcast
Gillmor Gang +