Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of Gillmor Gang

Reeling In the Years

January 8, 2024
6

Today is Elvis’s birthday, and David Bowie’s too, but most importantly Tina’s 60th. We’ve been together for half of that time, and now it’s populated by two grandchildren and another in the oven. So forgive me if I’m stunned and dreaming of a glorious time of deliverance from the rest of the news that’s unfit to print. Our life together began in a New York comedy club; the golden age of the standup circuit and a scene populated by brilliant and struggling minds. She was this odd combination of innocent and wise, and I made her my top priority. Badgering her to move into her midtown apartment, fending off the blunt stare of her father, playing cards around the kitchen table and spending my afternoons around the corner pondering the computer magazines documenting the technology revolution. I remember our friend Richard Belzer marking my exit from a Law and Order SUV with “off to save the world?”, the world of pre-peak TV punctuated with tech meetups and executive roundtables.

Tina had a …

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Gillmor Gang to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Gillmor Gang
Gillmor Gang Podcast
Gillmor Gang +